Lawyers Appointed to the Queen’s Counsel

Nine of the province’s lawyers are being awarded the prestigious Queen’s counsel (QC) designation.

The QC designation is awarded annually to members of the legal profession to recognize exceptional merit and outstanding contributions to the legal community.

“Each one of these individuals is deserving of the honour of the Queen’s counsel title, for demonstrating dedication, integrity and exceptional commitment to their careers and community,” said Minister of Justice and Attorney General Brad Johns. “I congratulate these exceptional lawyers and thank them for their contributions to the people of Nova Scotia and to the legal profession.”

The appointees are:

  • David Hirtle, Lunenburg – NSBS Council Member, Southwestern District
  • M. Michelle Higgins, Halifax
  • Melanie Comstock, Halifax
  • Kevin Kindred, Halifax
  • Heidi Gayle Schedler, Halifax
  • Trevor Bernard, Membertou
  • Rebecca Hiltz LeBlanc, Halifax
  • Karen E. Endres, Halifax
  • Mary Kathleen McManus, Halifax.

A formal ceremony to honour the QC designates will be held at a future time.

Congratulations to all of the Queen’s counsel designates for this well-deserved recognition. I know that the lawyers in our province give their time generously to their profession and to their communities. To see them being recognized with a QC designation is a testament to their leadership and many contributions.

Jacqueline Mullenger, Acting Executive Director, Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society

Read the Nova Scotia Government news release