Current Council

Council members lead the Society and lend their voices and unique insights to decisions that impact Nova Scotia’s legal profession.  

Council includes 21 voting members who are elected lawyers from across the province, as well as five appointed public representatives.  

Officers

Carrie Ricker headshot

Carrie Ricker

President

carrie@rickerlaw.ca

902-414-2403

Read Carrie’s Bio

Jim Rossiter headshot

Jim Rossiter QC

First Vice-President

jim.rossiter@canada.ca

902-426-4528

Read Jim’s Bio

Tuma Young headshot

Tuma Young QC

Second Vice-President

tuma_young@cbu.ca

902-563-1435

Read Tuma’s Bio

Headshot of Tilly Pillay

Tilly Pillay QC

Executive Director

tpillay@nsbs.org

902-422-1491

Read Tilly’s Bio

Members of Council

Jillian Barrington Headshot

Jillian Barrington

Cape Breton District

jillian@sheldonnathanson.ca

902-562-1929

Read Jillian’s Bio

Shane Russell Headshot

Shane Russell

Cape Breton District

shane.russell@novascotia.ca

902-563-3530

Read Shane’s Bio

Ellen Burke headshot

Ellen R. Burke

Central District

eburke@pattersonlaw.ca

902-752-5090

Read Ellen’s Bio

J. Patrick Young

Central District

patrick.young@novascotia.ca

902-485-3570

Read Patrick’s Bio

Josie McKinney headshot

Josie McKinney

Halifax District

josie.mckinney@novascotia.ca

902-424-8734

Read Josie’s Bio

Sheree L. Conlon QC

Halifax District

sconlon@stewartmckelvey.com

902-420-3200

Read Sheree’s Bio

Deanna Frappier

Halifax District

dmfrappierqc@gmail.com

902-426-6107

Read Deanna’s Bio

Michelle Kelly

Halifax District

mkelly@coxandpalmer.com

902-421-6262

Read Michelle’s Bio

Andrew S. Nickerson QC

Southwestern District

nickerson@njflaw.ca

902-749-1995

Read Andrew’s Bio

David Hirtle

Southwestern District

hls@eastlink.ca

902-634-8713

Read David’s Bio

Jack Townsend

Member at Large

jack.townsend@novascotia.ca

902-424-7744

Read Jack’s Bio

Cheryl A. Canning QC

Member at Large

ccanning@burchells.ca

902-442-8372

Read Cheryl’s Bio

Melanie Petrunia

Member at Large

melanie@nmbarristers.com

902-407-2415

Read Melanie’s Bio

Public Representatives

Bryan Darrell

Bryan.darrell@novascotia.ca

902-422-7884

Read Bryan’s Bio

Natalie Borden

natalie.borden@novascotia.ca

902-233-8810

Read Natalie’s Bio

Peggy Gates-Hammond

randp.hammond@eastlink.ca

902-240-9079

Read Peggy’s Bio

Michelle Ward

mward@kids1st.ca

902-759-2388

Read Michelle’s Bio

Read Rod’s Bio