Race and the Law Essay Prize

This award recognizes and encourages outstanding scholarship by law students in Nova Scotia, on topics pertaining specifically to issues of race and law. It is presented by the Society’s Racial Equity Committee and sponsored by Stewart McKelvey.

The Society is now accepting submissions for the 2018 Race and the Law Essay Prize. The final deadline for submissions is April 30, 2018. See the poster (PDF) for eligibility, criteria and submission details. 

Race and the Law Essay Prize recipients

  • 2017 – Rosalea Thompson, for "Remembering as Solidarity with the Past: Legal Mechanisms for Protecting African Nova Scotian Sacred Places" (Paper)
  • 2016 – Alison Aho, for "Identification and Recognition Evidence: Determining Admissibility With Respect to Race" (Paper)
  • 2015 – Robin Vernest, for "Land: Inherent to Indigenous Sovereignty – The Crown must honour their solemn promises" (Paper
  • 2014 – Meaghan Mahadeo, for "What’s in a name?: An Analysis of the Politics of Band Membership Codes in the Canadian Indigenous Quest for Self-Determination" (Abstract)
  • 2013 – Allison Smith, for "Corporeal Punishment: Canadian Legal Culture, The Legacy of Colonialism, and the Bodies of Aboriginal Women" (Abstract | Paper)
  • 2012 – Jalana D. Lewis, for "Contextualizing 'Nine Sneaky Words': Situating s. 718.2(e) of the Criminal Code in the Past, Present and Future of Aboriginal Offenders of Canada" (Abstract | Paper)
  • 2011 – David Taylor, for “First Peoples, Fundamental Rights: Exploring the Potential Use of Section 7 Rights by Aboriginal Claimants” (Abstract)
  • 2010 – José Rodriguez, for “The Constitutive Character of Aboriginal Law to the Canadian Legal System”   
  • 2009 – David Steeves, for “Maniacal Murderer or Death Dealing Car: The Case of Daniel Perry Sampson 1933-1935” (Abstract)