2019 Recognition Reception Photos

2019 Recognition Reception Recipients
Left: Jennifer Anderson, David Slipp, Julianne Stevenson Centre: President Carrie Ricker & Lee Cohen QC Right: 50-Year Practising Certificate recipients

Each year we celebrate excellence in Nova Scotia’s legal profession at the NSBS Recognition Reception.

The recognition reception is our annual opportunity to honour lawyers and law students for contributions that demonstrate the profession’s commitment to excellence in law, leadership, access to justice and community service.

At our 2019 reception we presented:

  • 50-Year Practising Certificates to Peter Claman QC, Jack Innes QC, John McFarlane QC, Frank Metcalf QC, Joel Pink QC, James Richards QC, Michael Ryan QC and Ove Samuelsen.
  • The 2019 NSBS President’s Leadership Award – David Slipp
  • The 2019 NSBS President’s Internship Scholarship – Jennifer Anderson
  • The 2019 Race and the Law Essay Prize – Julianne Stevenson

We also presented Lee Cohen QC with the 2019 Distinguished Service Award for his significant contributions to the community, the legal profession and the Society.

Photos by Michelle Doucette