2019 Halifax District Election Results

Printer-friendly version

Four members were elected to the Society’s Council following the 2019 Halifax District Election (March 4-18, 2019). They will begin their two-year terms following the 2019 Annual Meeting on June 15th.

The successful candidates were Sheree Conlon QC, Josie McKinney, Michelle Kelly, Deanna Frappier QC. As Council members, these successful candidates will lead the Society and lend their voices and unique insights to decisions that impact Nova Scotia's legal profession. Learn more about the newly elected Council members here. 

2019 Halifax District Election Results 

  • Sheree Conlon QC - 335 votes (19% of votes)
  • Josie McKinney - 312 votes (18% of votes)
  • Michelle Kelly - 309 votes (18% of votes)
  • Deanna Frappier QC - 268 votes (16% of votes) 
  • Cheryl A. Canning QC - 251 votes (15% of votes)
  • Brian K. Awad - 246 votes (14% of votes)

Voter turnout for this election was 30.96% with 579 votes of a total 1870 eligible voters casting electronic ballots.

Thank you to our members who participated in the 2019 Halifax District Election!

What’s next in the 2019 Council Election?

The Society has a two-phase Council election process. The second phase is the At-Large Election which elects both practising and non-practising members to fill in existing gaps on Council as the Society seeks a diversity of representation.

Nominations for the At-Large Election will be open from March 19 to April 1, 2019. All members in good standing are eligible to be nominated as the Society seeks to elect three At-Large members to Council. Voting is conducted online and is open to all members from April 15 to April 22, 2019