2019 Council Election: District candidates and acclamations announced

Printer-friendly version

Halifax District Election

A Council Election will be held in Halifax District from March 4-18, 2019. Six practising lawyers will be vying for the four Halifax District seats on Council.

The Halifax candidates are:

  • Josie McKinney – Public Prosecution Service
  • Cheryl Canning QC – Burchells LLP
  • Michelle Kelly – Cox & Palmer
  • Sheree Conlon QC – Stewart McKelvey
  • Deanna Frappier QC – Department of Justice (Canada)
  • Brian Awad – McInnes Cooper

Voting is conducted online and opens Monday, March 4th at 8:00 AM and closes Monday, March 18th at 5:00 PM.

Read the Candidate Profiles and Election Platforms

Acclamations in three districts 

Two candidates were nominated in Cape Breton and Central Districts, and one candidate in Southwestern District, so elections are not required in those districts. The following nominees are acclaimed as Council members for the 2019-2021 term:

Cape Breton

Jillian Barrington, Sydney – Sheldon Nathanson Law
Shane Russell, Sydney – Public Prosecution Service


Ellen Burke, New Glasgow/Truro – Patterson Law
J. Patrick Young, Pictou – Public Prosecution Service


David Hirtle, Lunenburg – Hirtle Legal Services Inc.

There is a vacancy in the Southwestern District. This vacancy will be filled by a process to be determined by Council, once the At-Large elections are complete in April.

Learn more about the 2019 Election here

Questions about the Election? Please contact the Society's Governance Officer, Julia Schabas via email at or call 902-377-6344. Your message will be returned within two business days.