New Queen’s Counsel appointments

Printer-friendly version

The Society congratulates the following 14 lawyers – including one member of Council – on their new Queen's Counsel designations, announced April 3 by the Honourable Mark Furey, Minister of Justice and Attorney General:

  • Cheryl A. Canning QC, Halifax
  • Victor J. Goldberg QC, Halifax
  • Marcia Brennan QC, Halifax
  • Ingrid Brodie QC, Kentville
  • Lena Metlege Diab QC, Halifax
  • Allen Murray QC, Antigonish
  • Alonzo C. Wright QC, Halifax
  • Denise Mentis-Smith QC, Bedford
  • James Rossiter QC, Halifax
  • Aleta C. Cromwell QC, Truro
  • Gail L. Gatchalian QC, Halifax
  • Andrew Fraser QC, Halifax
  • Kevin Donald Gibson QC, Halifax
  • Jill S. Perry QC, Sydney

The QC designation is awarded each year to members of the legal profession to recognize exceptional merit and outstanding contribution to the legal community. An official ceremony will be held at the Lieutenant Governor's House in May.

"I applaud this year's appointees," said Mr. Furey. "The Queen's Counsel is reserved for those who have represented their profession with the highest integrity and who have contributed greatly to their communities. These individuals represent the diversity and values for which Nova Scotia is so highly regarded."

An independent advisory committee makes Queen's Counsel recommendations to cabinet. In addition to merit and legal contributions, criteria include a minimum of 15 years as a member of the Bar of Nova Scotia, demonstrated professional integrity and good character.

The next deadline for applications or nominations will be in September 2018. Details and forms will be available in the spring on the Queen’s Counsel process page of the Society’s website, and updates will be published in InForum.