Society news
Results of the 2017 Halifax District Byelection for Council

Printer-friendly version

Shelley Hounsell-Gray has been elected to Council in the Society’s Halifax District Byelection, and will commence her term effective immediately. Ms. Hounsell-Gray is Managing Lawyer at the Nova Scotia Legal Aid – Family Law office in Dartmouth. See her bio and election statement for more details.  

Four candidates were vying for the Halifax District seat, vacated when John Bodurtha was appointed Second Vice-President in September. The byelection ran from November 6 to 8.


  • Shelley Hounsell-Gray, Dartmouth – 151 votes (37%)
  • Angela Caseley, Halifax – 89 votes (22%)
  • Derek Brett, Dartmouth – 86 votes (21%)
  • Cecil Woon, Halifax – 80 votes (20%)

Voter turnout: A total of 406 members (22%) cast ballots, of a possible 1,820 voters. All members in good standing in Halifax District were eligible to vote for this position.

The other three Halifax District members on Council for 2017-2019, elected in March, are Sheree Conlon QC, Deanna Frappier and Loretta Manning QC.

The Society extends its thanks to all candidates and voters for their commitment to participating in regulation of the legal profession in the public interest. Details of the Society’s election process are outlined in the Society’s Regulations 2.4 (District Elections), 2.5 (At Large Elections), and 2.6 (Second Vice-President Elections).

Council for 2017-2019 consists of 21 members: the three officers (Julia Cornish QC, President; Frank DeMont QC, First Vice-President; and John Bodurtha, Second Vice-President), 10 members elected and acclaimed in the judicial districts, three At Large members elected from the entire province, and five Public Representatives.

The next meeting of Council is on Friday, November 17. To follow the work of Council throughout the year, see Council materials for meeting agendas, documents and highlights.