2017 Council District Byelections: Halifax candidates and Cape Breton acclamation

Printer-friendly version

The Society is holding a Council byelection in Halifax District. Nominations closed on October 20, and the election will take place from November 6 to 8, 2017.

Four practising lawyers will be vying for one vacant Halifax District seat on Council. The candidates:

Voting will be conducted online, and will start on Monday, November 6 at 8:30 am, closing at 5:00 pm on Wednesday, November 8. Complete details about the electronic voting procedure are now available on the website, along with information about each candidate, including biographies and election platforms. See the 2017 Halifax District Byelection page for all details.

    Acclamation in Cape Breton District  
    One candidate was nominated in Cape Breton District by the Oct. 20 deadline, so a byelection will not be required in Cape Breton. Shane Russell of the Nova Scotia Public Prosecution Service in Sydney is therefore acclaimed as a Council member for the remainder of the 2017-2019 term. He fills the seat vacated when the Hon. Judge Diane McGrath was appointed to Nova Scotia Provincial and Family Courts on September 19.

    Council for 2017-2019 consists of 21 members: the three officers, 10 members elected and acclaimed in the judicial districts, three Council members elected from the entire province, and five public representatives.

    Council members ensure that the Society acts in the public interest and as a fair, visionary and respected regulator. Council requires committed lawyers who understand the responsibilities associated with self governance of an independent legal profession. A diversity of representation on Council plays an important role in setting and implementing the Society’s strategic direction and ensuring that the Society’s activities have a positive impact on the public’s interest in the Nova Scotia legal profession. Learn more at