Results of the 2015 District Elections for Council

Printer-friendly version

Eight Council members were elected on March 16 in the Society’s District Elections, and will begin their two-year terms following the 2015 Annual Meeting on June 13.

In Cape Breton, the successful candidates were Jillian MacNeil, of Sheldon Nathanson Barristers & Solicitors; and Diane L. McGrath QC, of the Nova Scotia Public Prosecution Service; both in Sydney.   

Representing Central District in the 2015-2017 Council term will be Frank E. DeMont QC, of DeMont Law, New Glasgow; and Kelly R. Mittelstadt​, of Burchell MacDougall, Truro.

In the Halifax District, the following four candidates were elected: R. Lester Jesudason QC, of  Blois, Nickerson & Bryson LLP; Sheree L. Conlon, of Stewart McKelvey; Alonzo Wright, of the Nova Scotia Public Prosecution Service; and Nancy F. Barteaux QC, of Barteaux Durnford.


Cape Breton District - 2 seats 

  • Jillian MacNeil – 45 votes (38%)
  • Diane L. McGrath QC – 44 votes (37%)
  • Carolyn MacAulay – 31 votes (26%)

Central District - 2 seats 

  • Frank E. DeMont QC – 62 votes (35%)
  • Kelly R. Mittelstadt – 46 votes (26%)
  • Robert Gregan – 37 votes (21%)
  • Sarah Lennerton – 34 votes (19%)

Halifax District - 4 seats 

  • R. Lester Jesudason QC – 296 votes (21%)
  • Sheree L. Conlon – 285 votes (20%)
  • Alonzo Wright – 243 votes (17%)
  • Nancy F. Barteaux QC – 222 votes (16%)
  • Gavin Giles QC – 221 votes (16%)
  • David Schermbrucker – 149 votes (11%)

Acclaimed Members of Council for 2015-2017

Two candidates were nominated for two seats in Southwestern District, so an election was not required in that district. The following acclaimed lawyers will begin their terms on June 13: 

Southwestern District

  • Heidi Foshay Kimball QC
  • Andrew S. Nickerson QC

Role of Council

Council members ensure that the Society acts in the public interest and as a fair, visionary and respected regulator. Council requires committed lawyers who understand the responsibilities associated with self governance of an independent legal profession. A diversity of representation on Council plays an important role in setting and implementing the Society’s strategic direction and ensuring that the Society’s activities have a positive impact on the public’s interest in the Nova Scotia legal profession.

Council for 2015-2017 will consist of 21 members: the three officers (Jill Perry, President; R. Daren Baxter QC, TEP, First Vice-President; and Julia Cornish QC, Second Vice-President), 10 members elected and acclaimed in the judicial districts, three At Large members elected from the entire province in an election April 20 to 27, three public representatives, the representative of the Attorney General and the Dean of the Schulich School of Law at Dalhousie University.

Details of the Society’s election process are outlined in the Society’s Regulations 2.4 (District Elections), 2.5 (At Large Elections), and 2.6 (Second Vice-President Elections).