New Queen's Counsel appointments

Printer-friendly version

The Society congratulates the following 14 lawyers – including two members of Council – on their new Queen's Counsel designations, announced December 12 by the Hon. Lena Diab, Minister of Justice and Attorney General:

  • Nancy F. Barteaux QC, Halifax, Council Member At Large          
  • William L. Mahody QC, Council Member for Halifax District              
  • Paula Marie Arab QC, Halifax  
  • Paul J. Carver QC, Halifax    
  • Brian P. Casey QC, Dartmouth   
  • Robert David Chipman QC, Bridgewater  
  • Myrna L. Gillis QC, Bedford   ​
  • Dennis J. James QC, Truro​
  • John A. Keith QC, Halifax    ​
  • R. Bruce MacKeen QC, Guysborough          
  • Pamela J. MacKeigan QC, Halifax
  • D. Peter Mancini QC, Halifax             
  • Barry J. Mason QC, Bedford 
  • Peter C. McVey QC, Halifax               

The Queen’s Counsel designation is awarded annually to members of the legal profession to recognize exceptional merit and outstanding contributions to the legal community.

"This year's appointees have made significant contributions to their communities and to the justice system in Nova Scotia," said Ms. Diab. "I am proud to present them with this prestigious title."

Recommendations are made to cabinet by an independent advisory committee. Criteria include a minimum of 15 years as a member of the Bar of Nova Scotia, demonstrated professional integrity, good character and outstanding contributions to the practice of law.

The next deadline for applications or nominations will be in September 2015. Details and forms will be available on the Society’s website in the spring, on the Queen’s Counsel process page, and updates will be published in InForum.