Awards and congratulatory messages
2012 Distinguished Service Award: Edwin Harris QC

Printer-friendly version

The Society is pleased to announce that Edwin Harris QC will be the recipient of the 2012 Distinguished Service Award.

Admitted to the Nova Scotia Bar in 1959, Mr. Harris is Counsel in the Halifax office of McInnes Cooper. He is recognized nationally as a leading practitioner in the areas of corporate, estate and personal tax law. A former Chair of the Canadian Tax Foundation, he recently became the country’s first non-judge to receive the prestigious Tax Court of Canada medal, presented at a ceremony in Halifax in May.

A former law professor at Dalhousie University, he also acts as the Chair of Dalhousie’s Planned Giving Advisory Board. Mr. Harris has spoken and written extensively on tax and related matters for many professional and governmental bodies. He served as Honorary President for the Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society in 2000-2001 and on several professional standards and other committees.

He is a member of the Judicial Appointments Advisory Committee for the Tax Court of Canada, and chaired the taxation section of the Canadian Bar Association as well as the Atlantic branch of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners and the accounting research advisory board for the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants. He is a Fellow Chartered Accountant and a Fellow Certified Management Accountant.

Mr. Harris’s significant community contributions have also included leadership and advisory roles for Nova Scotia Voluntary Planning, the Graham Royal Commission on Education, the Halifax Transit Corporation and Metro Transit Commission, the Halifax Industrial Development Commission, the Economic Council of Canada and much more.  

Details of the award presentation will be announced at a later date. Established in 1999, the Distinguished Service Award is presented to a member of the Nova Scotia Barristers' Society who has made significant contributions to the community, the legal profession and the Society.

Distinguished Service Award recipients:

2011 – Robert (Robbie) G. MacKeigan QC  
2010 – Anne Malick QC
2008 – Innis M. Christie QC
2007 – Daniel M.Campbell QC
2006 – Bruce MacIntosh QC
2005 – Robert L. Barnes QC
2004 – Catherine Walker QC
2003 – Roberta Clarke QC
2002 – Harry Wrathall QC
2001 – Ronald Downie QC
2000 – R. Lorne MacDougall QC