National Aboriginal Day: June 21, 2017

Information below from Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the Nova Scotia Government and APTN 

June 21 is National Aboriginal Day. This is a day for all Canadians to recognize and celebrate the unique heritage, diverse cultures and outstanding contributions of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. In cooperation with Indigenous organizations, the Government of Canada chose June 21, the summer solstice, for National Aboriginal Day. For generations, many Indigenous Peoples and communities have celebrated their culture and heritage on or near this day due to the significance of the summer solstice as the longest day of the year.

National Aboriginal Day was first celebrated on June 21, 1996, after being recognized through a proclamation by then Governor General Roméo LeBlanc. National Aboriginal Day is part of the Celebrate Canada program, though most provinces do not recognize it as a statutory holiday. For more information, learning resources and a list of activities across Canada, visit Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada online and see its National Aboriginal Day webpage.

Nova Scotia Celebrates National Aboriginal Day, see the message from the provincial government

National Aboriginal Day celebrations are taking place at various locations across the province, including the Sands at Salter along the Halifax Waterfront and the Halifax Common. The Mi’kmaw Native Friendship Centre is hosting events on the Halifax Common including a powwow with a round dance, musical performances, drumming and more. Find the schedule on the centre’s Facebook page. Details about the Sands at Salter event follow below.

Mi’kmaw culture is one of the themes in Nova Scotia’s first Culture Action Plan, released in February. To view the plan, visit

Aboriginal Day Live 2017: June 21 on the Halifax waterfront with APTN

On Wednesday, June 21, join the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) for its Aboriginal Day Live festivities across Canada. This year marks the largest celebration of National Aboriginal Day in Canada’s history, as we host celebrations in eight cities across the country: Halifax, Montréal, Ottawa, Toronto, Winnipeg, Yellowknife, Edmonton and Vancouver.

All Canadians are invited to join – for free day celebrations and activities as well as a live concert – on location in our host cities, via a live 7-hour TV broadcast, via participating radio stations and online.