New Queen’s Counsel appointments

Printer-friendly version

The Society congratulates the following 14 lawyers – including two members of Council – on their new Queen's Counsel designations, announced February 23 by the Honourable Diana Whalen, Minister of Justice and Attorney General:

  • Sheree Lynn Conlon QC, Halifax​
  • Loretta Marie Manning QC, Halifax​
  • Randall P.H. Balcome QC, Kentville​
  • Peter James Craig QC, Halifax
  • Kathryn M. Dumke QC, Bridgewater
  • David Gerald Henley QC, Dartmouth
  • Megan Longley QC, Halifax
  • Pamela Marche QC, Sydney​
  • Bernard Miller QC, Halifax
  • Richard W.P. Murphy QC, Yarmouth
  • Jane O’Neill QC, Halifax
  • Kathryn A. Raymond QC, Dartmouth
  • Kelly J. Serbu QC, Dartmouth
  • Candace L. Thomas QC, Dartmouth

The QC designation is awarded each year to members of the legal profession to recognize exceptional merit and outstanding contribution to the legal community.

"This designation recognizes the great contributions made by some outstanding Nova Scotia lawyers and their personal and professional commitment to our province," said Ms. Whalen. "We educate and are served by some of the best lawyers in the country. Nova Scotia is proud of them."

An independent advisory committee makes Queen's Counsel recommendations to cabinet. In addition to merit and legal contributions, criteria include a minimum of 15 years as a member of the Bar of Nova Scotia, demonstrated professional integrity and good character.

The next deadline for applications or nominations will be in September 2017. Details and forms will be available in the spring on the Queen’s Counsel process page of the Society’s website, and updates will be published in InForum